No-Knead Artisan Bread – OK, I’ll Try It!

I love bread.  Nothing matches the smell of bread baking to make a house feel like home.  (Argh, cliche time!)

One problem. . .I am terrible at it.  Precision isn’t my strong suit unless it concerns medication administration (good thing, right?) and grammar (when I feel like it, I’m a tremendous grammar snob).  Good baking, especially of yeast breads, requires some precision.  I just wander off and lose interest, or forget a step, and before you know it?  Flat, heavy, uninteresting loaves of bread emerge from my oven.  It’s just disappointing!

However, I ran across a recipe for no-knead, artisan bread in one of the local fishrags (that’s newspaper to those of you that actually still read one) that intrigued me.  So, I’m giving it a whirl.  If it works, I’ll share the step-by-step, of course giving credit where due to the original recipe.  It’s rising right now. . .I’m hopeful of avoiding disaster.

Speaking of disaster, do you have a plan should one strike?  Visit http://www.ready.gov/make-a-plan for some hints.  And don’t forget to plan for the needs of your pets.  This can be overlooked.

So, if I say no more on the topic of home-baked no-knead artisan bread, you may assume that it didn’t turn out well.  So, stay tuned. . .

 

3 thoughts on “No-Knead Artisan Bread – OK, I’ll Try It!

  1. Like understanding all that information overload that is nursing school, making a good loaf of bread takes practice. I found after some false starts over the years that I AM capable of turning out and edible and even delicious loaf of bread. After many batches, you start to get the hang of when the bread has been kneaded enough. This is the part that leaves you with those heavy loaves. If the bread has been kneaded well, you can time rising to suit your schedule by popping that dough in the fridge until you have time for it. You can even let it rise overnight in there and then pull it out for half an hour or so to warm up and through the loaves in the oven for yummy breakfast bread!

    1. Thanks for the advice! I will follow it if I ever attempt kneaded bread again, however, the no-knead version is so easy and tasty, I’ll probably stick with that for a bit. Thank you for reading! 🙂

C'mon - out with it! You know you have an opinion - share it here!

