Dutch Apple Cake

Image

Maybe it’s that I’m no longer being actively tortured by nursing school (online BSN program is keeping me busy, but I no longer lose 5-10 hours/week driving to/from campus and/or clinical) – I’m rediscovering my love for baking, particularly recipes I haven’t made since, oh, MTV was cool.  Here’s one of my favorites:

Dutch Apple Cake – recipe cheerfully liberated when I was a teenager from my mother’s ancient Better Homes and Gardens cookbook. (Reading under the covers with a flashlight so I wouldn’t get caught with it. You’re welcome.)

Preheat oven to 400 (375 convection)

1 cup flour
1.5 tsp baking powder (I use Calumet)
0.25 tsp salt
*sugar (as sweet as 0730, or 1930, depending on what shift you work)
*butter (you can use margarine, but I detest that stuff)
0.25 cup raisins (grapes that spent a wee bit too much time on the tanning bed)
1 egg, well beaten (like my spirit after nursing school)
0.25 milk (just regular milk, not the milk of human kindness-save that for work)
0.5 tsp cinnamon (do not inhale. this is bad. you might die.)
0.25 tsp nutmeg (couldn’t find mine today, not exactly a crisis)
3 cups peeled apple slices (although I think one could leave them peeled and be just as happy. In fact, research indicates one’s gut flora would prefer it, so they can party with it)

Mix flour, baking powder, salt and 2 tbsp sugar. Cut in 1/3 cup butter (Whoops, looks like I “accidentally” doubled that today. Was delicious, not sorry.) Add raisins and combined egg and milk, blend well. Spread in buttered (because you can never have too much butter) 10 x 6 x 2 (or 9″ round, or 9×9 or 8×8) pan. Arrange apple wedges fancily on batter (sneakily gobbling down any extraneous wedges while the dog watches, drooling). Brush with 2 tbsp melted butter, then sprinkle with spices mixed w/2 tbsp sugar. Bake at for 30-40 minutes. Cut in squares and serve warm. Yum!

C'mon - out with it! You know you have an opinion - share it here!

