HESI RN Exit Exam Musings

Hello, faithful readers!

I’m pretty relieved. . .passed the HESI Exit RN Exam with a score of 1091.  Since I only needed 900 to get the 10% of my grade for this term that was my goal, I’m quite happy.

You know what makes me even more happy?  Validation that my affordable 2-year ADN community college nursing program, and 2-year ADN programs nationwide, must do a pretty good job of teaching us not only the content we need to know, but also critical thinking skills needed to answer these damned questions.  According to my test feedback from the nice folks in HESI-Land, the average HESI exit score for students in the last 364 days for BSN students was 846, LOWER than the average for ADN students (847).  Okay, just one point difference, but that is my point. . .ADN nurses are as well-prepared to become brand-new, wet-behind-the-earns new grad nurses as those with the vaunted BSN.  (Interestingly, the average for diploma RN students was 852.  I wonder where one would find a diploma program these days – perhaps not on the West Coast?)

Well, whatever, I’m pretty happy, and glad that I’ve paid attention in class and read my books these last two years.  I also must give props to the supplemental preparation method I used (cheap at $25), the

Evolve Resources for HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination, 3rd Edition.

While the questions on this internet-browser based resource tended to severely damage my self-esteem, they were useful for diagnosing my weak points (like knowing about glaucoma and a bunch of medications that I never saw in clinical or coursework, and, of course, as always maternity nursing.  I suck at that.) and made me a stronger test-taker.

So, if you are facing the HESI-RN or HESI-PN exit exams, I recommend Elsevier’s resources.  No, they don’t pay me a damned thing, but I still think these resources are bomb.

One thought on “HESI RN Exit Exam Musings

  1. It’s been awhile since I cared to check, but one of the last diploma programs I was aware of, in fact, was located on the West Coast, run by L.A. County/USC Medical Center (the building is the opening hospital exterior on “General Hospital”), wherein they took youngsters with skulls full of mush and turned them into nurses with abundant in-hospital training in 3 years.

    And it’s been common knowledge for decades that ADN nurses are far more clinically competent over their first two years than the BSN grads, due to a dearth of clinical experience, and a ton of more theoretical topics of instruction by graduation for the BSNs.

    After that first couple of years, things even out, but by then, as an ADN, you’ve usually got a pretty good shot at getting your BSN, or starting on it, esp. if the employer does tuition reimbursement.

    But unless you plan to manage, teach, or go for a higher cert. (like NP or CRNA), it tends to be of dubious utility.

    I know the national fantasy among nursing hierarchy is that all nurses will be BSNs, but the reality is, the AD schools crank out three times as many grads, and they make them in half the time,so chasing that 100% BSN carrot is like trying to get the keys from the dog on “Pirates Of the Caribbean”: Never going to happen.

    Congrats on your test results.

C'mon - out with it! You know you have an opinion - share it here!

